Fucking everything, one goat at a time!

Doomsayer Tunes: Yellow and Green make Gold!

Sitting here listening to the new Baroness double LP Yellow & Green, I am lost in a trance. The swirling rhythms and sounds are almost other worldly. This is classic metal in the vein of Hendrix or early Sabbath, even a little Zeppelin thrown in but after going through the filter of Fugazi. This is by far the album of the year and in many ways beats Mastodons the Hunter if nothing else on a the sheer grandiose quality. It’s almost operatic. The only thing is this is nothing new from the boys from Savannah. Twinkler sounds almost exactly like Steel That Sleeps thebaroness-bande Eye from their previous record. And I’m okay with that. There is a higher production quality and richer sound on this outing that I think the band greatly benefits from. They deserve the best recording technology can give them. Although the familiar sounds are what keep this album from being one of the best I have ever heard. Peter Adams, John Baizley, and Summer Welch are amazing, amazing musicians. They are masters of their craft and their vocal harmonies are phenomenal. As the double album finished I let it roll right into the Blue album and into the Red creating a massive soundtrack to me doing nothing today.

Baroness-Yellow-Green-608x309

I call this Doomsayer Tunes, because the music I label as such would make a perfect soundtrack to the end of the world. Be it a hectic and chaotic Zombie Apocalypse. Or a slow death by crumbling economies and famine. The end of everything you know or the end of the world as we know it. Same thing. If you were in a jeep riding across the barren nuclear wasteland with nothing but a solid gasmask and an IPod shuffle; which albums do you think would make the cut for forever. I tell you right now Baroness: Yellow & Gold are going in there, (not that their Red and Blue albums wouldn’t already be in). There  are songs on there for moments of urgency, songs that seem to uplift and offer a way out of the darkness, but this is sludge. This is dark, this is a journey through hell before reaching heaven. Just like I like it. This album is also filled with winding stoner metal that suits me just fine as well. I am fine sinking into the couch and staring at the ceiling for 45 minutes without realizing it. If I were 15 still this would be the record me and my friends got super high, and sat in my grandmothers basement silently to! No doubt about it. I would also like to take this album on a cross country trip. Through the back roads though off the beaten path where you see the real America. Broken down and out of work, not just for the last 3 or 4 years but for the last 20. There is a underbelly that has ben in a recession since the 80s thanks to the original Reganites.

I’m not sure what 2012 will hold, I’m sure it won’t be the literal end of the world, although events in my life make it feel like it’s the end of mine. I know one thing, and that’s this album must be playing when what ever shit hits the fan situation occurs next. This record was filed with a lot of the sentiments and feelings I myself am currently experiencing. The end of my 5 year relationship, moving across country, back to the dirty south. Finding myself alone and surrounded by friends at the same time. Trying to piece together what it is my life will become now. Failing miserably, ending up in isolation and despair, glimpsing the light only to miss it’s rays. Strong, strong emotions played throughout the music. Perhaps I’m putting a lot of myself and my own feelings into the music, but isn’t that what great music is supposed to do.

Leave a Reply

