Fucking everything, one goat at a time!

Attack the Block Now!

I’ve been doing quite a bit of movie reviews over here as of late, but not without due. Yet of all the amazing films I have seen lately a few days ago I was lucky enough to see a film that blew them all out of the water! I had the fortune, and opportunity to see a screening of Attack the Block and it was by far the best damn alien invasion flick since District 9! I know that’s a statement that has been made before, but that’s because it’s true. This is the movie that Super 8 wishes it was! This is Super 8 for those of us that didn’t grow up white, middle class, in the 1970s suburbs. If you haven’t heard about it, Attack the Block is about an alien invasion that lands in a south London projects that they call council estates! Unfortunately for the aliens the military never arrives and the police are useless, but a gang of the most badass awesome teenagers greets them with all the grit of any blonde-haired, blue eyed hero we’re used to smirking in the screen. There’s no painted on dirt and five o’clock stubble, the grit and the grime here are real.

Produced by Edgar Wright and featuring Nick Frost, this is the movie to see this summer. Written and directed masterfully by first-timer British comedian Joe Cornish. I recommend that if you like sci-fi, or even better if you don’t like sci-fi, you need to see this film. It’s so much more than just an alien invasion flick. There were moments in this movie that actually made me want to yell out and cheer, something I frown upon in most cases. I men they can’t hear you! But in this case I was hooked. It took me two days to stop imitating the accents of these kids in my head. I don’t want to give too much away, because I want each and every one of you to go and see this movie! The aliens are like nothing you’ve ever seen before (unless you’ve got an uncanny memory for Spaced)! The film itself is both scary and absolutely hilarious; the cast is phenomenal and led by break-out star John Boyega who plays 15 year-old, badass, Moses they make this feel less like an alien flick and more like a gangsta film.

Boyega comes off as a modern day Alex DeLarge, in fact the whole movie has a Clockwork verses the Aliens feel. Perhaps because I am an African-American whose favorite all time movie is Clockwork Orange that seems perfect for me. Or perhaps it’s because I grew up watching The East Enders of PBS that I feel more connected to these kids, than the ones in Super 8. I didn’t grow up in South London, but I did spend some of my formative years in some Suitland, Maryland slums that weren’t all that different from the ones in the film. And me and my friends weren’t terrible dissimilar either. Some of the people I saw the film with felt that the characters weren’t exactly the kinds of people they felt comfortable rooting for, but in my opinion they were exactly the boys I wanted on my side if something like this ever went down for real! I also like the fact that this wasn’t a big budget Hollywood summer action movie; this was a small British film that blows the doors off anything they got coming out this summer. This movie deserves to be the most talked about film of the year and in every major mega-plex making Ryan Reynolds and Michael Bay look like the piece of shit that they are. And if John Boyega doesn’t become the biggest star in the world and the next Denzel Washington then there is no justice in the world! Once you’ve seen it come back and leave a comment and we’ll discuss it in length.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers